Maison St-Charles

Rue du Château 126
1680 Romont

Number 4 of the historical tour

A boarding school was opened here in 1884. The Maison St-Charles was originally a small seminary where priests were trained. The premises are currently occupied by a special school. The decor above the entrance was created by the young Emile Aebischer who would subsequently become the artist Yoki*. In 1928, a local architect, Fernand Dumas*, built a new wing with a chapel in the space under the roof decorated by his friends from the St Luke’s group*. The stained glass was designed by Alexandre Cingria* while the mural is by Gaston Faravel.

The youngsters of the town were well advised to behave, for parents threatened to send them there as boarders thus certain young inhabitants of the town were forced to stay there.

*Yoki (Emile Aebischer) (1922-2012) : decorator, landscape painter and glass painter born in Romont. Numerous pieces of stained glass in Switzerland and abroad. Co-founder of the Swiss Museum of Stained Glass in 1981.

*Fernand Dumas (1892-1956) : architect in Romont. Has built numerous catholic churches and transformed numerous sanctuaries in French-speaking Switzerland in a style between neoclassical and modernist architecture. Contributed to the construction of the Miséricorde University of Fribourg.

*St Luke’s group: an association of Catholic artists, architects and intellectuals who renewed religious art in French-speaking Switzerland between the two world wars. Founded in 1919, the group includes artists from a wide range of origins and disciplines. It was created by Alexandre Cingria and Fernand Dumas who often met at the hotel Lion d’Or in Romont.

*Alexandre Cingria (1879-1945) : painter, mosaic artist, decorator and primarily a glass painter incorporating spontaneous designs, bright colors and baroque fantasy.

Information

Office du Tourisme de Romont et sa région
Rue du Château 112
Case postale 86
1680 Romont

The chapel can be visited on request.

Rue du Château 126
1680 Romont

Report an error

You may also be interested in

Um Ihnen das beste Web-Erlebnis zu bieten, verwenden wir Cookies und Tracking-Technologien gemäss unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Weitere Informationen

Maison St-Charles

Romont Romont
Rue du Château 126
1680 Romont

Nummer 4 vom geschichtlichen Rundgang

1884 wurde hier ein Pensionat eröffnet. Das Haus St. Charles war ursprünglich ein kleines Seminar zur Ausbildung von Priestern. Zurzeit befindet sich eine Spezialschule in den Räumlichkeiten. Das Dekor über der Eingangstür stammt vom jungen Emile Aebischer, bekannt unter seinem Künstlernamen Yoki*. Der Architekt aus Romont, Fernand Dumas*, baute 1928 einen neuen Flügel und richtete im Dachstock eine Kapelle ein, ausgestattet von seinen Freunden der Groupe de St-Luc*. Die Glasgemälde stammen von Alexandre Cingria*, die Wandbemalung von Gaston Faravel.

Die jungen Leute aus Romont taten gut daran, sich anständig zu verhalten, drohte man ihnen doch, sie als interne Schüler ins Pensionat einzuschreiben. Einige junge Leute mussten dann auch dort verweilen.

*Yoki (Emile Aebischer) (1922-2012) : Dekorateur, Landschaftsmaler und Glasmaler, geboren in Romont. Eine Vielzahl an Glasfenster in der Schweiz und im Ausland stammt von ihm. Mitbegründer des Schweizerischen Museums für Glasmalerei 1981.

*Fernand Dumas (1892-1956) : Architekt in Romont. Entwarf zahlreiche katholische Kirchen und baute viele Heiligtümer in der Westschweiz, in einem neoklassischen bis modernen Architekturstyl, um. Nahm beim Bau der Universität Miséricorde von Freiburg teil.

*Groupe de St-Luc: Vereinigung von katholischen Künstlern, Architekten und Intellektuellen, die in der Westschweiz während der Zwischenkriegszeit die Sakralkunst erneuert haben. 1919 gegründet, vereinigt die Gruppe Künstler verschiedener Herkunft und Ausdruckarten. Alexandre Cingria und Fernand Dumas waren die Initianten dieser Gruppe, die sich im Lion d’Or in Romont traf.

*Alexandre Cingria (1879-1945) : Kunstmaler, Mosaizist, Dekorateur und vor allem Glasmaler unter Verwendung leuchtender Farben und barocker Fantasie in seinen spontanen Zeichnungen.

Auskunft

Office du Tourisme de Romont et sa région
Rue du Château 112
Case postale 86
1680 Romont

Die Kapelle kann auf Anfrage besichtigt werden.

Romont Romont
Rue du Château 126
1680 Romont

Einen Fehler melden

Weitere Informationen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren