To provide you with the best web experience, we use cookies and tracking technologies in accordance with our privacy policy.

More information

Rue

Administration communale de Rue
Rue du Casino 30
1673 Rue

+41 21 909 58 22

www.rue.ch

The smallest town of Europe

As from the year 1150, about fifteen towns appeared on the current territory of Fribourg. The foundation of the city of Rue is between 1264 and 1271. Rue and its castle are mentioned for the first time in 1152, when the family of the Lords of Rue lived there.

During the years 1251-1262, the expansionist policy of Pierre Il de Savoie resulted in the annexation of the lordship of Rue to the bailiwick of Vaud around 1260. The châtellenie de Rue, competent in civil and judicial matters, was from then on dependent on the bailiff of Vaud residing in Moudon.

The economic difficulties of the 14th century and the Great Plague of 1348-1350 slowed down the development of the towns. In 1476, Fribourg troops laid siege to the Pays de Vaud and occupied Romont and Rue. The Pays de Vaud, despite the fact that it had been conquered, was returned to Savoy in return for a large ransom.

As soon as the Bernese conquered the Savoyard châtellenies in 1536, the people of Fribourg seized Romont, Rue and other towns that would henceforth form part of the canton of Fribourg. In 1797, Rue was crossed by the French army advancing on Fribourg. After the defeat of the Sonderbund, the canton of Fribourg entered the federal state in 1848.

Information

Office du Tourisme de Romont et sa région
Rue du Château 112
Case postale 86
1680 Romont

Administration communale de Rue
Rue du Casino 30
1673 Rue

+41 21 909 58 22

www.rue.ch

Report an error

More information

You may also be interested in

Um Ihnen das beste Web-Erlebnis zu bieten, verwenden wir Cookies und Tracking-Technologien gemäss unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Weitere Informationen

Rue

Administration communale de Rue
Rue du Casino 30
1673 Rue

+41 21 909 58 22

www.rue.ch

Die kleineste Stadt in Europa

Bereits um 1150 entstanden auf dem heutigen Gebiet von Freiburg etwa fünfzehn Städte. Die Gründung der Stadt liegt zwischen 1264 und 1271. Rue und ihr Schloss wurden 1152 zum ersten Mal erwähnt, als die Familie der Herren von Rue dort lebte.

In den Jahren 1251-1262 führte die Expansionspolitik von Pierre Il de Savoie um 1260 zur Angliederung der Herrschaft Rue an die Vogtei Waadt. Die Châtellenie de Rue, die für Zivil- und Gerichtsangelegenheiten zuständig war, hing fortan vom Waadtländer Gerichtsvollzieher mit Wohnsitz in Moudon ab.

Die wirtschaftlichen Schwierigkeiten des 14. Jahrhunderts und die große Pest von 1348-1350 bremsten die Entwicklung der Städte. 1476 belagerten die Freiburger Truppen das Waadtland und besetzten Romont und Rue. Das Waadtland wurde trotz der Eroberung an Savoyen zurückgegeben und erhielt im Gegenzug ein hohes Lösegeld.

Als die Berner 1536 die savoyischen Schlösser eroberten, eroberten die Freiburger Romont, Rue und andere Städte, die fortan zum Kanton Freiburg gehören sollten. 1797 wurde Rue von der französischen Armee überquert. Nach der Niederlage des Sonderbundes trat der Kanton Freiburg 1848 in den Bundesstaat ein.

Auskunft

Office du Tourisme de Romont et sa région
Rue du Château 112
Case postale 86
1680 Romont

Administration communale de Rue
Rue du Casino 30
1673 Rue

+41 21 909 58 22

www.rue.ch

Einen Fehler melden

Weitere Informationen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren